SM Sport #CPT

Ajax Dominates Youth Categories

13 | 05 | 15

Bantu Mzwakali, Tashreeq Morris, Abbubaker Mobara,  Rivaldo Coetzee, PSL Awards, Riyaad Norodien,

facebook img: facebook

The South African soccer league finished this past weekend and Kaizer Chiefs were crowned the new champs.

This coming Sunday 5 of Ajax CT young players will be up for the youth awards at the PSL Awards. Abbubaker Mobara, Rivaldo Coetzee, Bantu Mzwakali, Tashreeq Morris and Riyaad Norodien have all been nominated in the young players categories. With 5 players out of the 6 young players in these 2 categories, Ajax Cape Town has proven yet again that they are the development cornerstone of South African football.

The PSL Awards will take place in Jozi at the Sandton Convention Centre. The Awards will also been shown live on TV at 8pm.

The remarkable part is out of the 5 young players nominated in these 2 categories from Ajax, 4 of them are from Cape Town.

Here are the categories:

Best PSL Young Player:

Abbubaker Mobara, Rivaldo Coetzee and Phumlani (Bidvest Wits)

Best Nedbank Cup Young Player:

Bantu Mzwakali, Tashreeq Morris and Riyaad Norodien.

Ajax's festivities do not end there as their Finnish goalkeeper has also earned a nominee as for "Best PSL Goalkeeper" and former Ajax development graduates Thulani Hlatshwayo and Cole Alexander have also been nominated on the night.

One thing that is for sure, the young Ajax players focus will be on Saturday instead of Sunday for now as they will be taking on Mamelodi Sundonws in the Nedbank Cup final.

Via @Tankiem (JHB editor, writer, MD)

Visit sister mag here: